They Come in Batches

January 19, 2009 at 6:36 pm | Posted in complaining, family, self awareness, The Mundane | 6 Comments
Tags: , , , , ,

The past few weeks, it seems as if the stress is just coming in batches.

Family turmoil (not the three of us- other family) that we just can’t seem to avoid despite our wishes.

Some news from a friend that has me worried and heart broken for her. I’m a fixer and I hate it when there isn’t anything that I can do to fix a problem that someone close to me has.

Changes with Jeremy’s job.

The whole home buying process is a big deal for us as well. It’s our first home purchase and it also means we are soon going to be parting with a good chunk of our beloved cash that we have been squirreling away for months. Between a sizable down payment and closing costs, we’re feeling slightly sick to our stomachs about it.

But it does help that we are completely enamoured with our new home. Yes, the house has things here and there that bother us, but most of it is fixable for a relatively low price. So says she who is still waiting to hear back from the inspector.

My excitement over what a fabulous house we’re buying is evenly tempered with my dread. What if the financing doesn’t go through? I can’t believe the debt we’re putting ourselves in! What if something happens and we can’t afford it? So, I promise myself that I won’t get too excited until it is a done deal.

But then I go show the house off to a friend and join her in screaming at how fabulous the house is. It really is an awesome house. I don’t want to sound like a braggart ( I do so detest those people) so I won’t go into detail, but it really is something- especially for a first home.

And for over a week now I seem to be utterly incapable of not thinking about the fact that my baby will be going to school this summer. Kindergarten, folks. All day kindergarten. When I share this with anyone, they usually just raise their eyebrows and suggest that maybe it’s finally time to have another baby. That’s not it. It’s not that I won’t have a baby at home to take care of all day, it’s that Hali, my baby, isn’t going to be home all day. There is a difference. I’ve been fighting off the depression of this for days now.

All this complaining has made me thirsty. Perhaps I can find comfort in my very favorite drink, Wild Cherry Diet Pepsi? No? Oh, that’s right- I’ve quit caffeine. I know, right! Maybe the timing wasn’t the best, but I knew my soda intake was getting ridiculous, so I’ve cut back on the amount quite a bit and have quit drinking caffeinated soda all together. Or, as we here in the south call it, coke. Do I drink Coke? No, but all sodas are referred to as coke down here. Odd, right? That’s one Texas oddity that I do not participate in. I call it soda, thanks. Less confusion that way.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Congrats on the home, hope it all works out.

    My husband says “soda” too. Being a Texan by birth, I find it a little weird when he does say soda b/c to me it sounds old. Worse, is when I hear “pop”. Coke sounds right to me. But then again, so does “buggie” which is also a Texan word for “shopping cart”.

    • My native Texan husband says soda as well, and neither of us use “buggie”- then again, neither of us really has much of a “Texas twang”. It occasionally comes out in us, but we really don’t have accents. Pop is what they say in Idaho usually, so I grew up hearing it used. Coke is just a hard name to use- say you’re offering a guest a drink. You ask a “good” lds person from up north if they’d like a coke or water and they will have no choice but to chose water, despite the fact that you actually have Sprite, rootbear, Fresca, etc. So, that is why Jeremy and I use the word soda. It just makes more sense. And we couldn’t bring ourselves to use “pop”! Hee.

  2. For this Texas native living on the east coast – all soda is coke… do ya’ll want a coke? orange? sprite? what KIND of coke? These folks call it SO-DER – argh… and yes, a buggie is what you put your groceries in at the store.
    People up here do not always understand me.

    delurking to say hello – I enjoy your blog

    jo

    http://www.teensandtriplets.blogspot.com

    • Thank you for delurking! So-der?! That’s hilarious! Is it supposed to be a combination of soda and water, which is what cola/soda/coke/pop used to be most commonly called- soda water? We do seem to be fans of combining/abriviating words/couples. Bennifer, Branglina, etc.

  3. Arkansas native here! I call it soda–coke is way too specific for this Dr. Pepper lover.

  4. Congrats on your house! That will be so amazing to have your own space that you can do anything to! And it’s not so bad to brag especially when you have worked hard for something–I would love to see pictures though! Please?
    I understand how you must feel about your little girl getting bigger–I’m going through similar emotions with my first born who turns 3 on the 22nd. Lately everything is, “I can do it”, “I’m not little–I’m a big girl!” (*tear) They really do grow so quick.
    Good luck with everything–I’m sure if you keep a positive outlook it will all work out. Don’t worry–start picking out paint colors!
    Kalisha


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

