Practicality Over Sentimentality

February 25, 2009 at 7:10 am | Posted in Home Decor, self awareness, The Mundane | 1 Comment

Moving time is also de-cluttering time. I am determined not to bring things that I don’t absolutely love with us. So far a few old frames and wedding presents have not made the cut. I literally have a bag of bad presents from Christmas and my birthday. I still don’t know what to do with that.

But hardest of all is what to do with Hali’s old things? Do I box up and keep her old clothes just to drag them along with us so that they may spend their eternal slumber in a new attic- destined to never see the light of day again?  Right now we have no plans on them ever being used by this family again.

It’s difficult to weigh the sentimental against the practical. And I gotta tell you- the practical almost always wins. I’ve already given away all but her most recently outgrown clothes. So I guess I know what I have to do. Anyone need some size 5 girls clothes?

Also to toss? All those little dust collectors. Little statuettes and things that were given to me as gifts in the past seven years. They’re just not me. I love love LOVE home decor. But I love functionality more. Most of my decorative items also serve a purpose. I have a fondness for white ceramic and milk glass dishes, vases, pots, etc.

Having said this, the husband mentioned the other day throwing out our pre-marriage memorabilia. Don’t get me wrong, there is not a lot that has made it this far and it all fits into a little(ish) box. But it seems like a shame to throw out my husband’s yearbooks, my senior year scrapbook, senior year pictures, etc. These memories are all too quickly fading, and I know that when my daughter is experiencing those things herself I am going to want to look back at my high school experience- and I may need the help that these things offer to trigger the memories.

If the seven (well, eight counting this one) moves in as many years have taught me anything, it’s to keep the clutter level low. The more stuff you have the more stuff you have to pack and move.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Gotta love moving! and as the kids multiply so does the stuff. I know it all too well. Kali is a size 4 now, so we’ll take your hand me downs!!! I am sure D would loveto make another trip your way or you guys could always venture to KS!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

