Mall Rats

May 18, 2006 at 9:56 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment


   The shyness that is Hali snuck back into the shadows just a little bit today.  I took her to The Mall.  I capitalize that purposely, because The Mall in The Woodlands is The Place to be. It’s not Woodlands, TX it is The Woodlands, TX.  But I digress.  There is a very large play area, as there are in most malls, where you can give your toddler a break from the rigors of shopping.  It took Hali a few minutes, but she warmed right up and was soon crawling in faux water that ran under a plastic bridge.  I was then only slightly embarrassed, because she was bustin’ a sag.  She is right between sizes right now, and many clothes appear to be belly shirts (can we say slut in training?)because they are too small or straight gangsta because they are hanging off of her.  After I realized that pulling them over and over did no good whatsoever, I had a chance to look around me.  

   Big Moms, Small Moms, Short Moms, Tall Moms, Relaxed Moms and Frazzled Moms.  No, I’m not an aspiring Dr. Seuss.  Sure, there were plenty of moms there who were thinner than I.  A few much larger than me too.  But one thing I noticed in all of the women (except for that one *#$%&! sitting next to me who looked darn good and probably younger than she really is too) is the sagginess.  And the pooches.  Yep, that’s right, I am talking about the difference we notice in our bodies pre-kids and post-kids (or sanity and insanity).  Oh, the things we sacrifice in order to procreate.  Its not just the sagging butt and boobs, either.  Its the stretch marks (which I am covered in).  I’m not just talking about the ones that if you look real hard you’ll see.  I mean I have a belt of them.  Between my belly button and my bikini line is solid stretch marks.  I have them on my boobs, on the inside of my upper arms, behind my knees, and inside my thighs.  And I weigh about 12 more pounds now than I did pre-pregnancy ( I put on 22 pounds during preg.).  Don’t get me started on the complete loss of bladder control.  True, I don’t do my kegals like I did during pregnancy, but ugh.  I thought wetting your pants was for young ‘uns.

   All in all though, it was a really nice reminder that it’s not just me.  I am not the only one who often wishes for their pre-pregnancy body, I am sure.  But we deal with it- I mean it’s worth it, isn’t it?  ISNT IT?!










1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Sagginess…who doesn’t relate to this if you have had kids? If you don’t, go away. The bladder thing bothers me more than the sagginess, though. WAH!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

