Apartment Life

May 19, 2006 at 10:02 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment


   How often I have walked into our apartment and thought “Ugh, what is that SMELL?!”?  Too many.  The people in the apartment under us like to fry.  A lot.  In used grease.  Do you KNOW what that smells like?  BOOTY!  That is the best way I can describe it.  It was so bad last weekend we nearly had to just leave and go find something else to do.  I dunno if smellophobe is a word, but Jeremy and I are what that sounds like.  I am the woman that must always have Febreeze, plug ins, airfreshners, candles, you name it.  I like to walk in and not smell BOOTY, but the smell of the hawiian breeze plug in, or the febreeze, or whatever.  I have been so “spoiled” the past couple years because I have not had to handle other people’s smell coming in and INVADING my home.  

   Nor have I had to handle people yelling at each other outside my daughter’s bedroom window.  WE do not yell.  Unless its a good thing, like “YEA! GOOD JOB! WHOOHOO!” you get the point.  Nor do we pull up to someone’s house at midnight and honk the horn.

   But we do run around, jump up and down, and have a good time during the day.  Hali and I take a while to really get rolling in the mornings, so its after 10 most of the time before anyone here is up to running or jumping.  Neither of these activities happens after about 8 or 9 at night either.  So when one of the women downstairs ( I say one, because I don’t even know how many people are crammed into that apartment) came up at noon today to ask me to keep Hali from making so much noise, because her mom is sick and cranky, I couldn’t believe it.  Huh?!  First of all, I don’t think she understands what we have put up with from them.  Secondly, its an apartment complex- it is rare for people who live in them to be considerate of others or very respectful.  We try to be, but come on!  Its not like it is midnight….  And third, I am not God.  I CANNOT keep Hali from running around.  I managed to stop the jumping by allowing her to do so on the bed.  Luckily we had to go get some groceries and so were gone for a while.  

   I will say this, though:  I will not hesitate to go outside and glare at anyone who is loud at night when I am desperately trying to keep Hali asleep.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Ug. I hated liing in an apartment for that very reason. I am an extremely outgoing person…unless you are my neighbor. My idea of a good neighbor is one who waves from the driveway and keeps their dog from icking up my lawn…


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

