Rain drops on roses and whiskers on kittens…

June 12, 2006 at 7:50 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

                                                            
   As I looked over at my daughter just in time to catch her chubby little hands come together in a clap, I realized that action has always been something I enjoy seeing her do.  From the first time that those adorable, chubby, rollie pollie hands accidentally came together in a smack, it has put a smile on my face.  Inspired, I started noticing the other things that she does and that babies and toddlers in general do to make us moms grin.  

   Just sitting there watching her play is wonderful.  I remember one night, when she was probably just over a year old and really starting to play and walk around, we stayed up until about 11 o’clock at night because she was just so full of energy and being so absolutely adorable that all my husband and I could do was sit there misty-eyed, grinning like idiots.  Jeremy had been working long hours and had hardly seen us for weeks.  So she could see her daddy, I let her sleep a little longer during her nap that afternoon so she would be able to stay up late that night.  It was so worth a little planning ahead, and little difference from the normal routine.

   The future cinematographer in Hali is already showing itself as I watch her watching a movie.  She belts out her favorite songs in each movie at the top of her voice.  Having no singing ability myself, I adore listening to her sing/yell along to music and recite favorite nursery songs.  I bribe her to sing them over the phone to my mom, who, at 2,000 miles away will listen with the patience of a monk to anything Hali related. 

   My daughter is a girlie girl.  Thank GOODNESS!  I wanted a girl that would play dress up with costume jewelry and plastic heels.  I wanted a daughter that loved cute clothes, shoes, purses, and hair.  She won’t let me touch her soft brown curls.  

                                                              

   3 out of 4 ain’t bad. Really there was no hope for her NOT liking shoes.  My hubs and I both have shoe fetishes.  Both our mothers do, and my mom’s mom is rumored to have stopped at a shoe store on her way in to have my mother.  Shoe shopping while in labor- who doesn’t love that?!  Often, the first thing my daughter will do in the mornings- before she has even had a diaper change and is still bleary eyed and clad in pajamas, is to put on her newest pair of pink sandals and her newest purse.  Laughing at your daughter when you’re still not totally awake is a great way to start your day.

   To put an end to my ceaseless bragging, I will conclude with one more than I believe many moms can relate too.  Hali will say hi, bye, good morning, etc. to any Joe Blow on the street.  If we pass by a stranger, or go to the pool, or go shopping, or any public place that contains people- she will say goodbye to anyone.  But if that stranger tries to get too close, she runs behind mama for protection.  Talking good.  Contact bad.  Thats my girl.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

