Hogwarts, Hufflepuff, and History of Magic- can it get any better?!

June 28, 2006 at 1:24 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

                                            
   

   Confession: I am a HUGE Harry Potter fan.  To say that I have read the books and seen the movies would not be enough.  I HEART HARRY POTTER.  I read the first one as a teenager and was hooked.  At the mere mention of anything Harry Potter related I get all atingle.  I love reading, as so I have read many many books.  The Harry Potter series is without question my favorite.  I could go on and on about my obsession, but that is not why I am writing today.

   My adoration is not just limited to the fictional characters of the books.  I also have great admiration for the author, J.K. Rowling.  She has single handedly gotten children, teenagers, and even adults to read.  For pleasure!  Many a mother out there feels indebted to this woman and her amazing creativity.  This woman has imagined an entire world.  She has created characters so well, we feel as if we know them- we find ourselves emotionally involved.  Just the names for things that she has come up with are amazing, not to mention the explanations and descriptions for them.  For example, let me get a little Dumbledore on you: auror: an enforcer of magical laws, squib: a person who has little to no magical powers, despite their magical family, muggle: a non-magical person.  There are so many of these nonsensical words that she has made up, and they’re great!

   The author has done more for non-impoverished children than anyone.  And we are talking about a woman who pulled herself up by her boot straps here, people.  I believe she was single mom on the equivalent to welfare when she started writing the series.  I am inspired by her.  I believe that she is one of those good role models that we hear about.
 

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

