The public library’s story time

November 3, 2006 at 12:49 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment


Today was our weekly story time at the nearby public library.  I have posted on this a few times.  It took Hali a while to warm up, but eventually she did, and I am very pleased with both of us for it.  Last weeks Halloween Party and Trick or Treating Extravaganza was something to behold.  We both had a blast. 

After a few months of story time, I am still not at all bored with it, and Hali is far from it.  I get a real kick out of my Hali and her excitement at going to the library, and the fun that ensues while we are there.  She is her mama’s girl- she loves books.  She is definately the loudest and most vocal of the eleven o’clock group.  It’s a very small group.  Today, infact, there were only three kids.  Usually there are about five or even six. 

It is such a great program.  The children’s librarian that does the story time is just too cute.  She really loves the kids, and it shows.  I don’t understand why there aren’t more parents bringing their kids to story time. 

Are they all at work?  Do they all have better things to do (ya, right)?  Are they just not aware of story time?  I have really wondered about this.  To me, encouraging your children to read, is one of the best things you can do as a parent.  The love of books is something that was instilled in me by my mother, and I have passed it down to my daughter.  You have no idea how many obsecure little facts I have bouncing around in my head because I read.  It actually impresses my husband on occasion, and that is not easy. 

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

