I could whine some more, but I won’t

March 1, 2007 at 9:47 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

I could go on and on about this dang blog, but I won’t. I’ll probably be picking up and moving it, but I haven’t mad any decisions yet. So on to what I wanted to  write about. I don’t like to get political, but…

I am LDS- that’s a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. Mormons. You know, polygamists and Utah and Godmakers, right? No. That isn’t what I want to talk about, either.

What I wanted to say is Mitt Romney. Ya. I am going there. Or not. Because, you see, that is where the problem lays.  Despite my being LDS, I am not super conservative.  My positions ( missionary, cowgirl, reverse cowgirl, doggy style- they’re all good) are varied, but I consider myself to be a liberal republican. I am right there on the fence, really. 

Republican because I want less government control in many things, but democratic because I would like to see health coverage for all- a national health plan- like you know, lots of other countries have.  Republican because I don’t see the need for abortions (hello, don’t have sex if you aren’t prepared for the consequences, that or its called birth control, and they make morning after pills too), democratic because I… uh, well there isn’t really one for that.  Lastly, I am very conservative in that I don’t think you need to live with someone of the opposite sex if you aren’t married and are both straight.  Which brings me to my main point of why I am a bad Mormon and am not sure that I can vote for Mitt Romney.

I do not have a problem with anyone who prefers the same sex.  I. Do. Not. Care.  For me, it’s a non-issue. I don’t think it is something that should even be a big political issue. It is two thousand and freaking seven people.  How about equal rights for everyone, hey? 

On the other “side” of the possible candidates, I also find myself unable to vote for Hillary Clinton. As much as it kills me to say that I cannot vote for the first serious female presidential candidate, I cannot vote for her. Heh, political views aside, can you imagine Bill in the White House again?! Watch out!

Now, I didn’t put this out there so that I could get hate mail. I just felt like a semi serious, ‘look- I have more on my mind than cleaning and Hali and whining’ kind of post today. That is all.

*** Happy Birthday, Ashton! My little sister is 18 today!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

