Throwing Away

March 21, 2007 at 3:25 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

What you are about to read is embarrassing for me to share.  I went soft.  I just couldn’t separate them.  They loved each other so, and darn it, they looked cute together.  But it has gotten to the point where I have to take into consideration the health aspects of it. So, this weekend, they are leaving her forever.

This Saturday Hali will be hosting a “Throwing Away The Bottles Party”.  Yes, she is three. Yes, I am a bad mother to have let it go on this long and I am sure that she will have thirty cavities soon and need braces to correct the damage that the bottle has done to them.  But I finally decided that enough was enough.  I bet I make all you other moms feel good about your mad parenting skillz, huh?

Poor Hali, she really does love her bottles.  She cries out for them in the middle of the night.  She wants one first thing in the morning (she hasn’t had one in the morning in a while- we switched to chocolate milk in a sippy cup) and last thing at night.  We have had a few false starts, but I hope that by getting her involved, we will accomplish it this time around.

I have finally come up with The. Brilliant. Plan.  We are having a party, culminating in the ritual throwing away of the sacred and almighty bottle.  She will be tossing them herself into the garbage.  While eating cake of course.  Oh, yes, there will be cake.  And cookies. And soda.  Because I have to give her something to ruin her teeth and because she planned this party.  She asked that we invite Dad, Grandma, Grandpa, Kelliarie (Kelly Marie, her aunt), and Puppy.  The in laws have a Chiweiner- or so I call it, as it is part Chihuahua and part wiener dog.  This is whom she refers to as Puppy.  She didn’t forget anyone!

Hali also requested pink birthday cake and sugar cookies, this just after she yelled “soda!” because what good is a party without all these things?  She also started mentioning Dora things, so I am not really sure what that was all about, but I can do the cake, cookies, and soda.  If anyone is in our area this Saturday, bring your kids by- poor Hali needs some friends.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Oh, I understand ALL about this. It’s hard to give up the bottle for mammas: It means they aren’t babies anymore. I cried every.single.time. 😦 The party is a fabulous idea. Make sure that you let her throw them, the nipples, rings, etc. in the trash. THEN drive to a dumpster and throw them in and let her wave bye bye. The first time we did it, my son kept pionting to our trash can wanting his bottle for 3 weeks. THIS way, they aren’t going anywhere that is around. Then when she’s done, take her to the park or something.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

