Bag For Me and Backpack For Hali

October 17, 2007 at 4:19 am | Posted in accessories, For Hali, sewing, thrifty | Leave a comment

hpim2386.JPG

 Clearly it needs a good ironing, but here is a bag I put together for myself.  When I say put together, I mean it: the seam right down the middle is pretty obvious!  I made a pair of pants that were too short for Jeremy (he’s 6’0, so this happens occasionally) into shorts, and took the cut off portion and made it into a bag, then sewed some of my absolute FAVORITE fabric that I found at Hancock’s on around the middle.  I covered up my sloppy sewing with some orange grosgrain ribbon, added some loops at the top and connected a brown leather strap from another purse that I didn’t like it on.  Talk about refashioning, eh?

 For Hali, she needed a bag that she could carry her ballet and tap shoes in easily, so I made a simple little backpack.  I’ve seen them everywhere, but didn’t have a pattern so I just kind of started sewing.  I picked a kind of “mod” fabric out of my stash- a quarter yard, and used all of it.

hpim2408.JPG

A (blurry) close up of the back view:

hpim2410.JPG

This little backpack is ridiculously fast and easy to make. Hali wouldn’t even wait for me to get my camera out for a picture of it before filling it with the “stuff” that little girls find necessary. She is quite happy with it, as am I.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

