Looking Back at 2007- A Meme

January 2, 2008 at 5:50 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

1. What did you do in 2007 that you’d never done before?
-I lost 35 pounds. Except for right after I had Hali and I lost my pregnancy weight, I’ve never really managed to stick with a diet/exercise plan long enough/effectively enough to actually lose weight.
-I started sewing all KINDS of things- stuff for the house, clothes, purses, bags, etc.
-I became the owner of a Cadillac- I’d never even driven one before.
-I dyed my hair strawberry blond in May. Then black in October. Then deep brown highlights over the black in December. I’ve ALWAYS been blond before this year!

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
I’ve been making it a point to not really make New Year’s Resolutions lately. I take the beginning of the year to really think about my life and what I can reasonably change that I feel needs changing. But, I am so pleased with this past year, that I believe I am going to make a few resolutions this year, which I will have to write about later.


3. Did anyone close to you give birth?


A friend of mine had a baby girl this summer.


4. Did anyone close to you die?


Yes. Jeremy’s grandma, Janette, passed away back in March, I believe.


5. What countries did you visit?


I didn’t travel farther than the beach this past year.


6. What would you like to have in 2008 that you lacked in 2007?


I would like to have a pair of size 8 jeans that fit me, because that’s what size I plan on being in 2008!


7.What dates from 2007 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?


I’m not so good with dates, but some general dates/events are:
Jeremy’s grandma’s funeral in March
Hali throwing out the last of her bottles in March
My family coming down to visit me in May/June
Losing weight in May/June
Hali’s first ballet classes in October
Hali potty training in October

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?


Definitely losing 35 pounds


9. What was your biggest failure?


there are some sort of personal spiritual issues that I would have liked to have made more progress on and if anything I have done worse in 2007 than the year before


10. Did you suffer illness or injury?


Sure, we had some colds and flu and things like that, I think I pulled/twisted my knee, ankle, and foot a few times, but nothing serious.

11. What was the best thing you bought?


My sewing machine. Without a doubt. And we even bought a Cadillac this year. That’s how much I love that sewing machine.


12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

Well, as I think it would be too pompous to say “ME!” I will say that I really REALLY appreciate how great my parents were about us not coming up to see them for Christmas as we had planned. I know they were extremely disappointed (as was I) but they were so nice about it.


13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?


Gosh. I’d rather not say, it seems kind of mean, but I think I should just put it out there- I will feel a lot better for the therapeutic qualities that it offers:
It’s the same person, year after year- my mother-in-law. You’d think I would be used to it by now, and for the most part I am, but when she continues to hurt people I love (mainly her own son- poor hubby!) it just makes me sick.


14. Where did most of your money go?


Honestly? Into a failed business. We closed the shop down back in March, I believe, but we lost a lot for several months before that.


15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?


Losing 35 pounds. I couldn’t believe it at the time. I was just so proud of myself! I honestly just did not believe that I was strong enough to do it. I get giddy every time I think about it!


16. What song will always remind you of 2007?


I think there are a few:
Dora the Explorer theme song
anything by Maroon 5 (Hali has discovered her love of that band this year)
Hey There Delilah (again, Hali loved it and was constantly singing it for several months there)
anything by Johnny Cash
anything by Jack Johnson
I Got it From My Mama (my mom thinks the ‘9 times out of 10 she ugly like her mama part waaaay too much)
Will You Go With Me by Josh Turner


17. Compared to this time last year, are you:? a) happier or sadder? b) thinner or fatter? c) richer or poorer?


Happier, Thinner and Richer. WHOOHOOO!


18. What do you wish you’d done more of?


I wish that I had improved spiritually


19. What do you wish you’d done less of?

waiting


20. How did you spend Christmas?


Christmas morning opening presents with Hali and Jeremy, watching Hali enjoy all her new gifts, enjoying time together as a little family- just the three of us, stressing over Jeremy’s parents behavior, then off to their house for dinner and the boredom of waiting until we could leave, go home, relax and have fun.


21. Did you fall in love in 2007?


No new loves, just renewed love.


22. What was your favorite TV program?


Well, we didn’t even get tv until May of this past year, so I would say that I really enjoy a few all considering:
Dancing With The Stars
LOST
Pushing Daises
Private Practice


23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t’t hate this time last year?


uhhh…no?


24. What was the best book you read?


The Last Harry Potter- Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows. This may sound lame, but I am a huge fan, and this book was very exciting to me- I’d been looking forward to it for YEARS. I read quite a few other good books in 2007, but I couldn’t even begin to list them all here.


25. What was your greatest musical discovery?


Jack Johnson
Josh Turner
Joshua Radi


26. What did you want and get?


A sewing machine. A potty trained daughter.


27. What did you want and not get?


I wanted to see my family in Idaho, but at least they came here for a few days.


28. What was your favorite film of this year?


Nacho Libre- I don’t think it came out in 2007, but that’s when I first watched it and it is FREAKING HILARIOUS!


29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?


I turned 24 on the 24th. Jeremy took me to Applebee’s and then to Kirkland’s for a present.


30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?


Moving back to Idaho (because Jeremy was able to get a good job there- impossible, I know)!


31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2007?


Baby doll shirts rock! Tunic length shirts are so great!


32. What kept you sane?


Blogging, snuggling with Hali, sewing, talking to my mom on the phone, having a car for most of the year, reading other blogs, internet gazing, book reading, and other nocturnal activities that we shall not mention…


33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?


Gosh, I really can’t chose between Britney, Paris, or Lindsey… HA-HA-FREAKING-HA! I’m not so much with the celebrities and stuff, though I do idolize Martha Stewart a little. Not so much idolize as like to pretend that I am soon to be discovered as the “next Martha” really, though…


34. What political issue stirred you the most?


Illegal immigration, which is a HUGE problem here in Texas.


35. Who did you miss?


My family. It’s so hard being so far from them.

36. Who was the best new person you met?


I did make several new internet friends in the blogging community!


37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2007.

Believe in yourself!


38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

“Don’t. Stop. BELIEEEEVIN’!”

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I loved doing this meme. I finally found the originator (Sundry Mourning). I related to a lot of this meme, some good some bad. I think that you have a whole lot to be proud of this year, toots. P.S.When the hell are you going to Idaho so I can finally freaking meet you?


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

