The Preschool Decision

July 25, 2008 at 6:02 am | Posted in adventures with Hali, family, self awareness | 7 Comments
Tags: , ,

My baby girl is preschol age this year. It’s hard to believe. Even harder to believe? Is how difficult it is to decide what to do about preschool.

Public? Nope- quickly found out we don’t qualify for that (you either have to be pretty dang broke or not speak English as your first language)

Private? Well, there’s the private preschool just down the road that Hali will have a friend or two in. It’s reasonably priced. It’s only twice a week for a few hours a day. Don’t know whether or not that’s good.

I love the idea of Montessori, but the closest one is about 20-25 minutes away. And tuition ain’t cheap.

Homeschool? YES! I get to keep my baby girl at home with me for one more year. Selfish of me, yes- but she’s only this age once, right? Honestly, I was really worried that Jeremy wasn’t going to like the idea. I was wrong, thank goodness. He actually brought it up himself one day and I was so happy I nearly cried.

Growing up we both knew a couple of families that homeschooled, and that’s not really a good thing. They kind of gave us reason to shy away from it.  They were that bad homeschooling stereotype. So for us to consider it so quickly, was really quite something.

We are more than likely only homeschooling for preschool, though. Beyond that, I think it will be more beneficial for us and for Hali to attend the local public elementary school. Though, I must admit, if there was a charter school in our area, I’d be all over that.

So, being the over-prepared woman that I am, I checked out half a dozen books from the library on homeschooling. I ordered a few more from Amazon. And I read. The more I read, the more I realized how pleased I was with our decision. It felt like all that worry was for nothing. Of coursewe’re going to homeschool for preschool! Why would I even think of doing anything else?!

On I read. I made out a list of what goals I wanted to reach throughout this school year. I found out what Hali would need to know before entering kindergarten.  I started listing what things I thought shewould want to learn about. I researched what the state of Texas requires for homeschooling (nothing for preschool- not much beyond that either). I learned to identify what kind of a learner Hali is- how she learns best. I poured over all the different methods.

Finally, one book had an extensive quiz that told you what might work best for you and your family. Unit Studies it was! Which was perfect, because that is the way I was already grouping things together anyways! I felt so relieved after all that fell into place. I’ve been jotting down ideas for the past few weeks- ideas for different units. It’s actually been a lot of fun.

I surprised myself with all my enthusiasm for it all, I have to admit. But the more I think about it and the more ideas I come up with to incorporate into different areas of study, the more excited I get! We are going to have a blast doing preschool ourselves! Plus, the money that I would be spending on tuition,  can now be spent on fun field trips!

Luckily, there are a few homeschoolers in our area with younger kids, so we will be able to continue to meet up during the week as we did this spring. I friend of mine has even decided to homeschool (for preschool) her son who is Hali’s friend as well. Knowing that Hali is going to continue to get plenty of opportunities to play and socialize with other kids of course makes me feel better about our decision.

7 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Congratulations on your decision! I have had a number of discussions with people on whether or not preschooling is necessary, and it seems that there is a very wide range of quality available in the area of preschooling. And, really, as long as you have the time available and the willingness to educate yourself on how best to meet the needs of your child, you are probably the best choice as to the education of your child. Best of luck! 🙂

  2. I am going to be home preschooling my kids for the most part. With the exception of ‘the boy’….we are planning to send him to 3 day a week/2 hr a day preschool when he is 4 to get the two of them prepared to be apart when he starts kindergarten.

    I would love to know which books you found helpful. When I think about what I want to do….I feel overwhelmed. Although…what a great excuse to start ANOTHER binder!! LOL!

  3. that’s great that you have such enthusiasm and zeal for homeschooling! I admire homeschoolers. I think I am too lazy!

  4. Wow! I’m so glad I came upon your blog! My daughter is 2 1/2 and already other Moms ask what preschool she goes to! Most kids in our area start at age 2, but like you we decided to enjoy her early years, save money and homeschool preschool her. It is good to know that I am not the only one making that decision because in Santa Monica it is kind of unheard of.

    Most people say that kids need structure and socialization to be able to strive in elem. school. But if you are dedicated to your children and spend quality time with them, take them places (story times, park, museums) they will get the socialization. And most important kids need to be able to free play as much as possible.

    My blog partner Reneca homeschooled her oldest daughter. She will be entering kindergarten this fall and I’m really proud of Reneca for being so dedicated to her daughter. Her daughter hasn’t been hurt in any way by not going to preschool.

    So, goodluck with your decision! Maybe we could stay in touch and exchange ideas for lesson plans and stuff.

    Kalisha
    http://mommylounge.wordpress.com

  5. Congratulations on your decision!

    Homeschoolers are the bravest, most patient and dedicated bunch on the planet.

    It’s especially great that Hali will continue socializing with some of the same friends. 🙂

  6. I found your site through Make and Take’s site. You did a great job on today’s guest project!
    I am currently in the middle of this very same debate with myself. I have a 4 year old and a 3 year old who would both love to be in preschool. I was thinking about sending my 4 year old to a two day a week preschool, mainly for the socialization aspect of it. I feel like I can handle all the education aspects of homeschooling, but I know that I lack in the socialization side. I guess I need to seriously make a decision and get in gear. I think I am going to take a trip to the library today to do some more homeschool research.
    Thanks for this great post! It has really inspired me to hurry up and make a decision.

    Thanks!
    Jessica
    http://www.momshots.com

  7. Way to go! I homeschooled my daughter this past year for pre-k and it was the best!!!! We both loved it and got to do some really fun projects! Those memories are so precious. I used Sonlight Curriculum ~ really loved it! I am amazed at the topics we covered and how my daughter just soaked it up.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

