Homeschooling Help

August 11, 2008 at 2:51 pm | Posted in books, preschool | 4 Comments
Tags: , , ,

I have been asked by a several people about the books that I read concerning homeschooling. I read, or rather started to read a few less than helpful ones that just seemed to give the most basic information and were rather repetitive, so here are the ones that I found to be most helpful:

Once we had decided that we definitely were going to home school, (and I read a couple before I was 100% sure that was what we were going to do) this book was without a doubt, the best, most useful book I have read on the subject of homeschooling:

100 Top Picks For Homeschool Curriculum: Choosing the Right Curriculum and Approach for Your Child’s Learning Style

                             

This book just really helped me to put all my questions in order. The book begins by asking you a series of simple questions about your goals for your child, your values, etc. From there you can get a better feel for what approach you should take. The questions also really help to get you in the right frame of mind and to get you thinking.

The book also covers a few general learning styles. While Hali (and I imagine most children) doesn’t fit neatly into one type, it did help me to know what to look for so that I can figure out for myself how my daughter learns best. 

I believe that she is a crazy mix: for things like math and writing, Hali seems to do well just sitting for a few minutes and working in a work book or other fairly “traditional” ways. For just about everything else we’re going to be getting a little more hands on. She likes to please me and receive praise for her good work, but she’s still a four year old who wants to have fun, play, socialize, and experience things.                

This seems to describe most kids her age, so I thought it was important that I share my thoughts on this with you, because your children are not going to fit into just one category described in this book.

The rest of this book covers approaches, or curriculum. Through a series of questions where you are to decided your preferences and such (I know, I know. More questions? Gah!) you can narrow down what home school approach will work best for you and your child. Don’t stress over these questions. After you start thinking about things and the juices get flowing, the answers will seem quite obvious to you.

This was the most helpful part of the book to me. I hadn’t even realized it, but I have been putting to use the approach that works best for us since before Hali was two. I won’t share what approach we are using today, because I don’t want to sway or wrongly influence anyone, but I will post about it soon.

After reading this book I felt as if a weight had been lifted from my shoulders. I knew what to do! I had better direction! It really got me excited about the upcoming school year.

If you have already made the decision to homeschool, this is the first book you should read. Not homeschooling? Fine. Read this book anyways. You will truely gain invaluable insight about your child and their education.

Another book that really provided some wonderful insight is:

Your Child’s Strengths: Discover Them, Develop Them, Use Them

Let me tell you, this book isn’t just for discovering your child’s strong areas. After reading this book I have a better understanding of where educators make mistakes. I understand my reactions to certain subjects and teachers in school growing up. This is useful, because now I know what to look out for when it comes to Hali’s education.

I’ve read a few of books about education in general, in addition to these, and I must confess, some of them are a little “conspiracy theory” but I found myself agreeing with them and not feeling so comfortable with that! I’ve also read a couple of additional books about preschool ideas and activities and in fact, loved a couple of them so much I am buying them today. I will gladly share them with you if there is any interest.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Thank you so much for sharing these. I am anxious to order these books because my children as so different that I know their learning styles will be different also.

    I struggled when I was in school and I would love to know why!

    Please share the preschool book ideas too. I just love books!

  2. Thanks for sharing these. It is so useful to get other mom’s opinions about starting this whole homeschool thing. I tend to blow it up in my mind and then get overwhelmed by it all. Silly, I know. Anyway, your thoughts on this have really come at a great time.

    Ditto on the preschool book ideas too.

    Thanks so much!
    Jessica
    http://www.momshots.com

  3. For those with older children and a little money…

    http://ce.byu.edu/is/site/programs/index.cfm

    (Little money comment was supposed to be funny)

    Allie

  4. […] – Homeschooling Help saved by G4TV2008-08-17 – Affidavit Filing Day, or, Why I love the saints. saved by […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

