We Have Been Spared

September 2, 2008 at 4:07 pm | Posted in The Mundane | 1 Comment
Tags: ,

Luckily, it looks as though we have been spared. No hurricane here this time. Some wind and some rain later today and tomorrow, but that is it. Three years ago or so when Rita came through Texas, we were living in Idaho. With the exception of those few months and the first three years of my life, I have always lived in Texas. As has my husband.

I was talking to a friend who is a Utah transplant here in Texas this weekend. Having never been through a hurricane herself she was asking me about them. I realized that I didn’t know much- there hasn’t actually been one here when I’ve been in Texas.  I could remember some close calls, some tropical storms and depression but that is it.

So I asked hubby if he could remember going through a hurricane. He mentioned that there was one when he was four or five he thinks. I looked it up. It looks like back in 1983 Hurricane Alicia came through our little part of Texas, though it’s more than likely was already downgraded to a tropical storm by the time she hit us.

This seems to be the case often here. I did a little research and we just always seem to be blessed. Or perhaps we are just far enough inland that we don’t usually get hit with the full force of a hurricane. Thank goodness! I hope our good fortune continues- I’m a girly girl. I. Do. Not. Rough. It.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Well, I must admit that it has been great watching the storm clouds blow in and I am really grateful for the rain we will be getting.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

