The Time Old Navy Made Me Cry

September 5, 2008 at 3:35 pm | Posted in adventures with Hali, family, self awareness, The Mundane | 2 Comments
Tags: , ,

Somehow I signed up to have Old Navy e-mail me their store adds. I clicked on the ad this morning. It was for a sale on baby clothes. Baby clothes. For newborns all the way up through size 5T. My four year old daughter? Is a size 6 now.

I don’t even get to shop for her in the same part of the store anymore. She is firmly insisting on continually growing. My tall lanky little girl is not so little anymore. She’s always been in the highest percentile for height.

So here I am. I have a preschooler. I have a big girl. She rarely lets me refer to her as even “my baby” anymore. We are going through this whole new, take-it-to-the-next-level independent stage. She doesn’t want to hold my hand. She doesn’t want to ride in the grocery cart anymore- she wants to walk beside it. Cuddles are few and far between.

All these dang milestones. Now I am just all the more determined to enjoy this last year at home we have together. I knew she wouldn’t be my baby girl forever, and it is exciting to see her growing up, I just wish it didn’t manage to jab me in the heart every single time there is irrefutable proof that my baby girl isn’t a baby anymore.

                                               

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Even though my oldest is only 2 I know what you mean. Each day they are more independent than before and say things that sound so grown-up and make sense! It’s hard to let go of that baby stage. I was just telling Reneca that I didn’t know what I was going to do when my girls turned 6 and 7–with attitude, opinions and non stop chatter!
    I feel your pain–*tear*
    Kalisha

  2. heh
    funny we gauged the passing of years by old navy too —
    every year she had to have a new old navy FLAG TEE.
    She even sang the commercial for months before and after [it has long since changed]
    High school senior now – – – somehow – – – in the blink of an eye – – –
    I don’t even have the priviledge of SHOPPING with her too often anymore, though [since she did learn to choose clothing wisely] I [shhh] don’t always mind not going because the chatter gets louder and more non stop in the teen years ;D


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

