Unit Study

October 20, 2008 at 3:52 pm | Posted in adventures with Hali, education, family, preschool | 3 Comments
Tags: , ,

Without even realizing it we had alreatsdy started a sort of “unit study” approach to our preschool, where we focused on one thing or area at a time, moving along each week or other regular interval. So imagine my surprise when I was reading up about all the different approaches and curriculum out there and DUH! the unit study approach was the best fit for us.

The OCD, organizational freak that I am loves this. and the slightly obsessive Hali does as well. We really do best when we focus on one thing until we are done with it. So far, she really absorbs everything well and doesn’t forget much of what she has previously learned. I’m sure that next summer will be spent doing a little review before kindergarten starts, but I’m honestly not too worried about it.

I love the flexibility of unit study as well. I can sort of plan units out so that they coincide with a field trip or holiday. In addition, we have plans to meet up at least once a week with some friends who are also homeschooling or in preschool. We’ll get together for outings, field trips, or just simple activities that have to do with each unit we are studying. This just really adds to the fun of it all for Hali (and for me- adult conversation! Yay!) and also helps to take care of the socialization aspect.

This is an idea of how you might go about planning a unit, and it is very nearly how I planned mine, though I did mine on a grander scale. Putting units together can basically be as time consuming as you want them to be. You dont’ have to plan every tiny little thing out, just make a list of things that need to be taught and run with it.

I’ve found some great local activities that can be tied into a few units, so I have scheduled the units to correlate with, say, when the local children’s museum is doing a class on dinosaurs.

For the next couple of weeks we will be learning about seasons and more specifically fall. This coincides with, obviously, the season we are in now, but also several activities we have planned like going to a pick-you-own pumpkin patch. Things that we would be doing anyway, but can become a learning experience and a reward at the end of the week.

I really am loving this whole homeschooling thing! Every time we start and finish a unit. Every time we go out for some fun with other homeschoolers. Every time I get to experience first-hand Hali’s eyes lighting up when she figures something out. I’m pleased with our decision to homeschool and I couldn’t be happier about getting this extra year with my Hali at home!

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I always admire those that decide to homeschool. I really dont think I am cut out for it, but more power to the women that can do it!

    You mentioned dinosaurs, and so I thought I’d mention what we’re doing Nov 1st. We are driving out to Glen Rose (smallest county in Texas, southwest of Fort Worth, home of dinosaurs) for Fossilmania. There are going to be a bunch of activities for the kids, free fossils, presentations, fossil identification, etc. Might be something worth doing if you’re up to it.

  2. Good for you! It’s reassuring to know that you won’t have any regrets when it comes to giving your daughter the best start. I wish you more success!
    Kalisha

  3. Hey girl! Go check out my blog starting Monday morning (10/27/2008) at http://www.screweduptexan.com to see the award.

    Great blog and what a blogging friend!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

